Copyrights and Wrongs

To The Board Members of the WGA.

My name is Larry Zerner.  I am a copyright attorney in Los Angeles.  In my practice, I represent screenwriters in lawsuits against production companies and studios for copyright infringement.

I am writing to you directly because of something that I believe should be addressed by the WGA and that is the fact that WGA Script Registry is costing your members money and is acting as a detriment, not an asset, to screenwriters. I know that sentence sounds extreme, but please let me explain.

The problem with the Script Registry is that many writers are using it as a substitute for registration with the U.S. Copyright Office.  As a result, in the event that their work is infringed, the writer will almost certainly lose thousands of dollars.  And, in many cases, a writer who only registered with the Script Registry will be precluded from…

View original post 1,857 more words

